A century’s worth of images from Utah State University’s past (1880s-1980s) depict the changing faces and landscape on campus, from the university’s early years when women’s gym classes and military cadet formations took place inside Old Main's auditorium (1890s), to 1906 when football scrimmages were held on Old Main's front lawn, to the 1920's when the campus housed a poultry yard and hosted milking contests, to the 1960s' student bathtub races, and up through the 1980s when the University Inn was built. Teachers, students, activities, clubs, athletics, ceremonies, buildings, and more are featured in over 2,000 photographs collected by a former director of the Library's Special Collections and Archives, A. J. Simmonds. He used many of these photographs in his book published in 1988,Pictures Past: A Centennial Celebration of Utah State University. Complete information on the collection can be found on the collections finding aid.
To further explore and explain the past, also see University Archivist Robert Parson's Encyclopedic History of Utah State University to find out the origins of Aggie ice cream, read about the old feud between USU's Foresters and Engineers, and look up facts and figures about campus buildings, programs, and people. Aggies with information to add to the photographs or Encyclopedic History are invited to contact Bob at Robert.Parson@usu.edu.
ENTER THE COLLECTION