Marge Prunty talks about growing up on a ranch, marrying a rancher, establishing their own ranch, and raising their family on a ranch. She also talks about the other methods of supplemental income, including: teaching school, renting rodeo stock,...
Prunty, Marjory Bieroth--Interviews; Prunty, Gary--Interviews; Hay--Harvesting--Equipment and supplies; Range management; Ranchers; Range management; Stacks (Hay, grain, etc.); Beef cattle--Cow-calf system; Cattle ranching; Hunting guides;...
Kelly and Heather Warr discuss their ranching life, as well as their supplemental business endeavors. Heather talks about her e-commerce business ventures, as well as being a rural ranching wife. Interviewed by Elaine Thatcher and Lisa Duskin-Goede...
Warr, Kelly--Interviews; Warr, Heather--Interviews; Ranching; Ranchers; Electronic commerce; Ranch spouses--Supplementary employment; Livestock brands; Animal marking; Cattle ranching; Pasture, Right of; Country life; Reality television programs;...
Yearbook for Utah State University. Published from 1909-1971 with single issues in 1978 and 1981.
Utah State University--History; Utah State University; Utah State Agricultural College; Agricultural College of Utah; Universities and colleges--Utah; Education, Higher--Utah; USU--Student life; USU--Student publications; USU--Faculty and staff;...
Nature's Second Course: Water Culture in the Mormon Communities of Cache Valley, Utah, 1860-1916 by Kathryn T. Morse. A thesis submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts in History, Utah State University,...
Canals--Cache Valley (Utah and Idaho)--History; Canals--Utah--History; Water rights--Utah--Cache County--History; Water resources development--Utah--History; Mormons--Utah--Social life and customs; Logan River (Utah)--Water rights;
History of Water Resources Development in the Bear River Basin of Utah, Idaho, and Wyoming by R. Scott Wrenn. M.S. thesis by R. Scott Wrenn, submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in History, Utah...
Water resources development--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water-supply--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Management; Water quality management--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho);
Paddy Bowman interview, conducted by Stephanie Laumer. Included in the Oral Histories: Scholars of Feminism collection compiled by the AFS Women's Section Oral History Project. This interview and accompanying photographs are available at the...
"B" County Book of the County of Box Elder, 1878-1886. Meeting minutes of county officials for Box Elder County, Utah spanning 1878 to 1886. Minutes document all offical business for the county including establishing of school and irrigation...
Box Elder County (Utah)--Records and correspondence; Box Elder County (Utah)--History--Sources; Brigham City (Utah)--History--Sources; Willard (Utah)--History--Sources; Mines and mineral resources--Utah--Box Elder County; Agriculture--Utah--Box...
Environmental Conditions Inventory Appendices, a working paper, March 1977. This appendices volume provides tables and descriptions of statistical environmental data and quality ratings discussed in the other three volumes of the Environmental...
Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions; Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions
Concentrating on the Cutler Plant Reservoir in Cache County, Utah, and with a concern that future development be in accord with the concept of environmental stewardship, a proposal was submitted by Utah State University to Utah Power and Light...
Ecological surveys--Utah--Cutler Dam; Reservoirs--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho);
Contracts & agreements concerning the Utah State Agricultural College Power Plant from 1911 to 1945. Contractees include the Utah State Agricultural College, Utah Power & Light Company, Allis-Chalmers Manufacturing Company, city of Logan, and the...
Utah State Agricultural College--History; Electric power-plants--Utah--History; Electric utilities--Utah--History;
Investigates the chemical, physical, and bacteriological quality of the Lower Bear River and its tributaries based on fieldwork done November and December 1955. Provides background data from two earlier reports from 1952 and 1955. Includes map...
Water quality management--Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Factory and trade waste--Research--Idaho--Franklin County; Factory and trade waste--Research--Utah--Cache County; Pollution--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water--Pollution--Bear River...
Annual report of extension service, 1957. County extension agents -- Cache County, State of Utah. From November 1, 1956 to October 31, 1957. Annual reports narrate the agricultural extension work carried out in Cache County, including reports on...
Agricultural extension work--Publications--Utah--Cache County; Home economics extension work--Publications--Utah--Cache County;
Annual narrative report of co-operative home demonstration extension work, 1921. Davis County, Utah. From November 23, 1930 to November 23, 1931. Annual reports narrate the agricultural extension work carried out in Davis County,including reports...
Home economics extension work--Publications--Utah--Davis County; Davis County 4-H Club; Clippings (Books, newspapers, etc.); Schwagler, Virginia--Portraits; Moore, Ann Carrol--Portraits; Esplin, Alma--Portraits; Briggs, June--Portraits; Sessions,...
Mrs. Tanner talks about moving to Grouse Creek as an outsider (when she married), about being a ranching wife, life in such a rural area and the families business ventures, including a dude ranch. Interviewed by Randy Williams on November 8, 2010...
Country life; Ranching; Cattle ranching; Dude ranches; Teaching; Gymkhanas (Horsemanship); Rural schools; Education, Rural; Saddlery; Leatherwork; Rural families; Rodeo; 4-H Youth Development Program (U.S.); Future Farmers of America;
Pat Turner interview by Rebecca Keyel, December 15, 2011, included in the Oral Histories: Scholars of Feminism collection compiled by the AFS Women's Section Oral History Project. This interview is available at the Minds@UW respository at the...
African Americans--Folklore; Urban folklore--United States; Quilting--United States--History; African American quiltmakers; African American quilts;
This report dated May 1982 identifies water resource development opportunities on the Bear River below Cutler Dam in Box Elder County. Data provided supplements that of previous reports and covers various alternative reservoir storage projects and...
Water resources development -- Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
Preliminary report of Idaho's Bear River Basin Investigation, February 1970. Updates and continues the draft report issued Dec. 1968. The investigation of the Bear River Basin evaluated water and related land resources in the Basin to assist...
Water resources development--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water-supply--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water resources development--Idaho; Water-supply--Idaho
Provides results of a hydrologic study of the Bear River Basin in Southeastern Idaho begun in July 1967. This October 1969 report by N. P. Dion describes the distribution and availability of water resources, presents well data, describes water...
Water resources development -- Idaho; Water quality -- Idaho; Water-supply -- Idaho; Water resources development -- Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
Environmental Conditions Inventory and Quality Rating, a working paper, March 1977. This first volume in a four-volume report summarizes environmental conditions of the Bear River Watershed in Idaho, Utah, and Wyoming. Work on this project was...
Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions; Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions
Environmental Enhancement Opportunities, a working paper, March 1977. This report describes the opportunities for accelerating programs already contributing to the environmental improvement, suggests other actions for the area, and identifies...
Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions; Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions
Recreation Working Paper for Bear River Cooperative Study Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, March 1978. This paper describes outdoor recreation activities associated with or influenced by USDA programs in the Bear River Basin such as picnicking, swimming,...
Outdoor recreation--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
Summarizes about 22 reports prepared as the result of the cooperative study of the Bear River Basin in Utah, Idaho, and Wyoming in the mid-1970s. Describes the Bear River Basin and some of its problems in areas such as economics, recreation,...
Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Statistics; Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Maps; Land use--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water-supply--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions--Statistics;...
This assessment of the prehistoric cultural resources in the marsh areas between Salt Lake City and Brigham City, Utah was prompted by the historic high reached by the flooding of the Great Salt Lake in 1987. In the aftermath of the flood,...
Archaeology--Utah--Great Salt Lake; Archaeology--Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Great Salt Lake (Utah); Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Great Salt Lake (Utah)--Antiquities; Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Antiquities;
A Hydrologic Model of the Bear River Basin Research Project Technical Completion Report to the Office of Water Resources Research, Department of the Interior, August 1970, Washington, D. C., 85 pages. "Increasing demands upon the available water...
Hydrology--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Hydrology--Mathematical models--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Hydrology--Data processing; Hydrology--Electromechanical analogies;
Water Quality Working Paper for the Bear River Basin Cooperative (Type IV) Study Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, December 1976. This report assembled and evaluated data pertaining to the water quality of the Bear River Basin. Specific objectives included 1)...
Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Water quality--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
This conference in the matter of pollution of the interstate of the Bear River involving the States of Idaho, Utah, and Wyoming, is being held under the provisions of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, Section 8. Under the terms of that Act,...
Water--Pollution--Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Environmental conditions;
Report to Bear River Compact Commissioners on Bear River Compact and Analysis of stream flow records, June 23, 1948 / prepared by W.V. Iorns, project engineer, U.S. Geological Survey. Includes tentative draft of Bear River Compact. Page 24 is...
Bear River Compact--History; Bear River Commission--History; Water rights--Utah; Water rights--Idaho; Water rights--Wyoming; Water resources development--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho)
Report on Logan River water rights prepared by A. G. Barber and George L. Swendson, Special Committee for Canal Companies. Provides some history of water rights, claims, and appropriations for both irrigation and power uses of Logan River water...
Logan River (Utah)--Water rights--History; Stream measurements--Utah--Logan River--History; Canals--Utah--Logan River--History
Miscellaneous papers (statistics, charts, check stubs, correspondence) concerning the amount and costs of electrical power to various state agencies, the Utah Agricultural College Power Plant, and Utah Power & Light chiefly from 1930 to 1933.
West Cache Irrigation Company minute books: 1961 to 1976. Typescript with some printed items laid in. Founded in 1898, the West Cache Irrigation Company built a large irrigation canal system starting at Riverdale, Idaho and ending in northwest...
West Cache Irrigation Company (Utah)--Records and correspondence; Irrigation canals and flumes--Cache Valley--History;
Rendezvous State Park: planning and design / by William F. Carman. A thesis submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Landscape Architecture, Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 1979.
Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho); Laketown (Utah); Parks--Utah--Planning;
A management study of the Cache elk herd / by Norman V. Hancock. A thesis submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in Wildlife Management, Utah State Agricultural College, Logan, Utah, 1955.
Elk--Utah--Cache County; Elk--Cache Valley (Utah and Idaho)--Management; Range management--Utah--Cache County; Wildlife management--Utah--Cache County;
Vanez T. Wilson scrapbook no. 2: Bear River Bird Refuge. Mr. Wilson began his career in Department of the Interior in 1927, helping to survey and establish what was to become the Bear River Bird Refuge just outside of Brigham City, Utah. He was...
Wilson, Vanez T., 1895-1977; Bear River Bird Refuge (Utah)--Pictorial works; Ducks--Utah--Bear River Bird Refuge; Ducks--Diseases--Pictorial works;
Report, the Water Commissioner for the Lower Bear River, 1935. A report of the use of water from the Bear River between Weston, Idaho, and the Cutler Reservoir.
Irrigation districts--Idaho--Statistics; Irrigation water--Idaho--Statistics; Irrigation water--Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--Statistics; Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Streamflow--Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho)
M.S. thesis by Jeffrey H. Johnson, submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in Fishery Biology, Utah State University, 1971. Typewritten, 77 single-sided pages. Includes charts, tables, and maps. ...
Newton Reservoir (Utah); Basses (Fish)--Utah--Newton Reservoir; Fisheries--Utah--Newton Reservoir
Describes the history and extent of the irrigation project of the Bear Lake and River Water Works and Irrigation Company as of 1889. Cities and towns served by the irrigation system included Ogden, Brigham City, Corrinne, Bear River City,...
Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho); Bear River (Utah-Idaho); Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Irrigation--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Irrigation--History; Water resources development--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
Ph.D. dissertation by Nicholas J. Chura, submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Wildlife Biology, Utah State University, 1962. 121 single-sided typewritten pages with 5 illustrations pasted in...
Mallard--Food--Utah--Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge
Ph.D. dissertation by Robert G. White submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Wildlife Science, Utah State University, 1974. 209 single-sided pages. Includes tables, map, and other figures. ...
Whitefishes--Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho); Whitefishes--Classification; Proscopium--Classification
Describes the physical setting, history, and legal controversies surrounding Logan River water rights, and how they were resolved. In his summary and conclusion, he identifies several important lessons learned from his study of water rights on the...
Irrigation--Utah--Logan River--History; Logan River (Utah)--Water rights; Logan River (Utah)--History; Water rights--Utah--Logan River--History
Discusses the potential of Cutler Reservoir for interpretive and recreational development. The Reservoir is a large shallow marsh formed by backing up the Bear River, Little Bear River, and Logan River at the far western end of the Bear River...
M.S. Thesis by Daood Salman Mutlag, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in Entomology, Utah State Agricultural College, 1955. Written under direction of Professor J. S. Stanford. Typewritten, carbon copy,...
M.S. Thesis by G. Glayde Maw, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Geology, Utah State University, 1968. Written under direction of Professor Robert Q. Oaks. Typewritten, 58...
M.S. Thesis by Kenneth E. Biesinger, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Fishery Management, Utah State University, 1961. Written under direction of Professor William F. Sigler....
Cutthroat trout--Wyoming--Yellowstone Lake; Redside shiner--Wyoming--Yellowstone Lake; Longnose sucker--Wyoming--Yellowstone Lake
M.S. Thesis by Louis S. Pechacek, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Fishery Management, Utah State Agricultural College, 1950. Written under direction of Professor William F. Sigler....
Fishing--Utah--Logan River; Fish stocking--Utah--Logan River
M.S. Thesis by William Merle Zarbock, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Wildlife Management, Utah State Agricultural College, 1951. Written under direction of Professor William F....
M.S. Thesis by William N. Wood, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, Utah State University, 1972. Written under direction of Professor...
Land use--Bear Lake (Utah and Idaho); Land use--Utah--Rich County
M.S. thesis by R. Scott Wrenn, submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in History, Utah State University, 1973. Typewritten, 127 single-sided pages. Includes tables and maps. Also includes R....
Water resources development--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho); Water-supply--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)--Management; Water quality management--Bear River Watershed (Utah-Idaho)
Drawing on information gleaned from many diverse sources and supplemented by interviews with people knowledgeable about the Bear River, this report describes the history and geography of the Bear River as it relates to navigation. Among the topics...
Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--History; Navigation--Bear River (Utah-Idaho)--History
M.S. Thesis by Allen D. Willard, in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Science in the Department of Geology, Utah State University, 1959. Written under direction of Professor J. Stewart Williams. Typewritten, 59...
A lecture presented by Thad Box given on October 28, 2009 at the USU Merrill-Cazier Library to open the Bells: Connecting Animals, People and Land Exhibit exhibit;